In addition to formally appointing Don Hamilton as Deputy Mayor, Frank Scarpitti (Mayor of Markham) also assigned committees across council.

“I am proud of the strong leadership my colleagues will bring to these key positions at the City of Markham,” says Markham Mayor Frank Scarpitti. “I am proud of this team and I know they will continue to champion and invest in key projects and initiatives while ensuring we deliver exceptional services to the people of Markham. I look forward to working with all the appointees over the next four years as we move our city forward together.”

All of council makes up general committees, normally, who report and make recommendations to issues like City-owned land and buildings, administrative matters relating to City policies, human resources, financial management and budgets, by-laws and licenses, community service policies including recreation and community organizations, cultural affairs, roads, park construction, environmental management & sustainability issues, fire and other protective services.

Among the pickings, is former Deputy Mayor (and current Regional Councillor) Jack Heath who is heading up the Finance and Administrative committee. Khalid Usman, Ward 7 Councillor will serve as Vice-Chair while the re-elected Ward 4 Councillor, Karen Rea will be at the helm of the Community Services Committee.

Regional Councillor, Joe Li will head up the Environment and Sustainability Committee alongside newly elected Ward 3 Councillor, Reid McAlpine.

All of council will also sit on the Development Services Committee and deal with issues around the City’s Official Plan including land use planning, urban design guidelines, transportation and servicing infrastructure, environmental assessment, housing and heritage policies, parks and public open space policy and standards, and economic development and culture strategy.

Jim Jones, the longstanding Regional Councillor who was also re-elected for the 2018 – 2022 term, will serve as Chair, Planning – Development and Policy. For a full list of committees and appointees, visit: